Something Weird.

20131110-220853.jpg

I spent a large amount of my youth in perpetual awkwardness. Like everyone else I thought I was the most important person on the planet, I simply couldn’t wrap my head around the fact that I was only one small person on a crazy populated earth. Every little problem I faced, was always the equivalent to the end of the world. Once I turned 19, I actually spent a year in the shoes of a girl who had real problems. And the shoes were my own. I realized how much I loved and relied on photography in that year. Every piece of work I created in that time was dark, strange, or flat out sadistic.

I’m not the type of person to pour my heart and soul to another person face to face. Most of the time I don’t even like to admit I’m having a rough time. But in my work, it all comes out. And I’m very thankful for having a camera during this time of my life. I can only imagine how much worse I would have felt had I not had a lock on my door and a wireless shutter remote. Some of my best, and favorite work came out of this year long period. Even being a completely different person now 3 years later, I still love these photos. They read like a timeline to me. I haven’t created anything as emotive as I did in 2010. I’ll take these frozen moments with me everywhere I go as a silent reminder of how beautiful life is, even in the hard times.

Leave a Reply

